Awards, Honors and Events: October 2009

Internet Automotive Writing

October 31 is the deadline for entries in the first-ever Internet Automotive Writing Contest. Submit them to

 There is no fee for entering.

Writers and bloggers can submit their best automotive Internet pieces from September 1, 2008 to September 1, 2009. Internet automotive writers will be awarded in the following categories:
• Best Feature written solely for the Internet
• Best Automotive Review written solely for the Internet
• Best Single Blog Entry
• Best Series of Blog Entries.

Eagle One Golden Rule Awards
Car clubs with active community involvement programs have an opportunity to win the grand prize of a $1,500 cash donation to a favorite charity in the Eagle One Golden Rule Awards competition.

Three other Award-winning clubs will each receive a cash donation of $500 for their favorite charity.

Winners will be selected in four regions of the U.S.: West, Midwest, East and South. In addition to a total of $3,000 in cash donations from Eagle One, and co-sponsor Valvoline, winners will also receive a generous supply of Eagle One car-care products and Valvoline motor oil for fund-raising purposes, as well as a custom-designed trophy.

An entry form may be downloaded at It can also be obtained by calling (818) 501-1445. Deadline for entries is December 31,2009. Winners will be notified by February 10, 2010.

Texas Truck Rodeo

The 2010 Ford F-150 was named Truck of Texas at the just completed Texas Auto Writers Association’s Truck Rodeo. SUV of Texas went to the 2010 Mercedes-Benz GL 350 BlueTEC and the 2010 Cadillac SRX 2.8 liter turbo won CUV of Texas. An additional 16 class
Honors were bestowed as well.