Regional Automotive Press News

The Texas Auto Writers Association (TAWA)’s 2011 Board of Directors: Michael Herzing- President, Don Armstrong- 1st VP, Guillermo de la Corte- 2nd VP, Gretha Gudmundsson- 3rd VP, Michael Marrs- Treasurer, Linda Water Nelson- Secretary, Lynn David Cole- At Large, Jeff Yip- At Large, and Harold Gunn- Immediate Past President. The “Truck of Texas” as determined at TAWA’s annual truck rodeo is the Ram Laramie Longhorn. Nineteen other vehicles earned class awards.

The Nissan Leaf: Best Vehicle at Miami Auto ShowSouthern Auto Media Association (SAMA) named the Chevrolet Volt and the Nissan Leaf as the best vehicles at the recent Miami Auto Show. The fourth annual “Star of The Show” trophy went to the Volt after SAMA members decided it was the single vehicle on display at the show that South Floridians most wanted to see. The Leaf was picked as the “Best Green Technology Vehicle” and Jeep’s Lower Forty was named the show’s “Best Concept Vehicle.”

The Motor Press Guild (MPG) has announced three finalists in four categories of MPG Best of The Year Awards. The Dean Batchelor Award will be presented to the category winner judged to have produced the single piece of work which best represents the professional standards and excellence demanded by Dean Batchelor during his life as an editor, writer, and chronicler of the automotive industry. The Dean Batchelor Awards Dinner will be held at the Petersen Automotive Museum on December 7. A Lifetime Achievement Award is also presented from time to time at the discretion of the MPG Board of Directors.